Abrasive Trees – Without Light EP released March 26

Spectral Post-Punk Abrasive Trees To Release 4 Track EP

Featuring Members of Rothko, Evi Vine and Fields Of The Nephilim

Matthew Rochford’s experimental post-punk project Abrasive Trees have announced a new EP via their SHAPTA label to be released on Friday 26th March. Title track, the layered ‘Without Light’ is accompanied by an ethereal video from visual artists Jess Wooller, with two additional songs ‘We Rise’ and ‘Alone In The World’ plus a remix by Rothko on the EP too.

Matthew said of the release, “This EP has challenged me to go deeper and have a consistent intention with each track. The music is the result of an emotional process that I think you can definitely hear in the music. I think even when there is grief in music it’s important to know that although we are fragile we can bounce back and feel happiness again.

“Working with Mark (Rothko) and Steven (Evi Vine) has been a massive boost both creatively and personally during the last year. It’s been heart-warming. One of the tracks (Alone In The World) also features the great Peter Yates from The Nephilim. He said it reminded him of Burial, one of my favourite artists. Even though Abrasive Trees is essentially a guitar-based band, having that comparison really confirmed that the experimental streak in me was coming through loud and clear and I took it as a huge complement.”

The release also features an ‘unreal’ remix by sonic adventurers and former Bella Union band Rothko. Ben Roberts and Steven Hill (from Evi Vine’s band), both feature on the release, along with Peter Yates (Fields of the Nephilim) Jay Newton (Quiet Quiet Band) and Jerome Hitchens (Kuki and The Bard). Live dates are being planned for the autumn.

The EP is released on all platforms on Friday 26th March and is also being released on chrome cassette and CD via Bandcamp.

Available now at

Bandcamp: https://abrasivetrees.bandcamp.com/album/without-light-ep

Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/album/5UOigHh5HDQWQKpMAbVsWa?si=mWn96cTlTRuqdanHdHlWqw



Share on Twitter
Share on Facebook
Share via email
© 2019 - 2020 Starwing Digital. All rights reserved.